LOOKING FOR GROUP


I’ve been playing role playing games (such as Dungeons & Dragons) for 30 years or so. I don’t get to play much anymore; I’d say it’s been at least a couple of years since I’ve had the pleasure of attending a gaming session for D&D or any other RPG for that matter. When I first moved to the Metro-Atlanta area in 2010, I joined a pretty awesome RPG group the very first night I was here. For various and sundry reasons, that group sort of split up (or at least, I somehow managed to no longer be a member of it – still not sure exactly how that happened). I missed gaming which lead to my starting to play World of Warcraft again after a hiatus of a couple of years; but even that, at times, requires a group.

While I do play Diablo III and World of Warcraft online it’s not quite the same as sitting around a table with real people acting out an adventure together. Put that together with the fact that WoW seems more and more geared towards forming Raid groups1 and is getting less and less solo gamer friendly, it becomes less of a replacement for tabletop gaming, at least for the person who’s playing the online game because they don’t have a tabletop group. Online games are fun and they do fulfill a certain need/desire, but they still lack a certain amount of social interaction unless you’re lucky enough to join a good guild that utilizes programs such as Ventrilo or TeamSpeak to talk to each other; and, sure, I’ve made friends from all over the country by playing WoW. Diablo and WoW may nominally be known as role playing games, but there’s little to no role playing involved and as I mentioned, in WoW you do need a group as too much of the end game content (I’m looking at you Timeless Isle) requires that you be in a group, unless you want your character to die every five minutes.

So, I’m looking for a group. Technically, in WoW, I am a member of a guild, but I haven’t logged on to the game in weeks, and even when I do it seems none of my guild mates are online (could have something to do with the fact that it’s a very small guild (basically I’m the only non-family member) and there’s a two hour time difference between them and myself). What I’d really love to find is a good tabletop role playing group again. I miss the social structure and truth be told, I miss rolling dice as compared to clicking a mouse to determine the outcome of my character’s actions. I’ve dabbled a bit with Warhammer 40,000, but that’s not a role playing game and I kind of got tired of the “table leaches” and “rules lawyers” that seem to come along with playing a miniatures game not to mention that a good bit of your time “playing” is just setting up the board; I do miss assembling and painting the models though.

The question is, how do I find a group? Something tells me that LivingSocial doesn’t have a geek/nerd section and so far the searches I’ve done via Google and Bing have lead me back to the gaming store where mostly miniatures games are played more so than role playing games (and as I recall, the RPG groups that do meet there are pretty much full up).

I guess we’ll see, as time rolls on, but for now my Saturday and Sunday evenings are reserved for watching Orphan Black and Game of Thrones anyway.

~ JC

————-

  1. A raid group is a large group of players made up of up to 8 parties of 5 players each intended to allow adventuring in areas (mostly difficult instances and PvP) needing large groups. Members of this group only get experience and loot from actions in their local party, unless the experience or loot results from a raid-based quest or mob (http://www.wowwiki.com/Raid_group)
Leave a Reply

